Retreat With Our Girls

Ness Lake RetreatIMG_20140503_192731

This weekend, myself and three of my good friends took our daughters to the Women of the North, retreat at Ness Lake Bible Camp in Prince George. Sixteen years ago, as a new Christian, a friend of mine, Anne, took me to this retreat for the first time. I brought Carlee who was 6 month old at the time. It was there that I received great healing, was water baptized and baptized in the Holy Spirit. It was a great weekend in my life, one that I will never forget and one that I had the privilege of sharing with my little daughter. Sixteen years later, I now go with my Carlee who is almost seventeen and able to have her own encounters with God at this retreat. Truly this weekend was a taste of a little bit of heaven on earth! To be in the presence of Jesus with our daughters and so many wonderful women from the North was truly a gift.

Let’s start with our accommodation. We had a cabin with an indoor bathroom! Bonus! It had 10 bunks…girls all on the top bunks and us old ladies on the bottom. Another woman and her daughter, who we did not know were put in our room as well. It was a divine arrangement 🙂 and the beginning of a new friendship. My friend’s, mother was supposed to come from Vancouver and stay in our room but ended up not coming. However, another friend of mine from Grand Prairie, who was not registered and not coming, just jumped in her car at the last minute and drove to the retreat. She was able to stay in our room because there now was an extra bed! There was one separate bedroom in our cabin, which our pastor, Betty was in. It was a lovely room with a door that closed and no one deserved it more than Betty who works full-time and shepherd’s our church full-time!  We were welcomed with a scripture and chocolate on our bed and also a bag of goodies which included a bible and more (organic) chocolate!

The Worship Team

The Worship Team

Becky Thomas

The music team flowed together and led us into deep worship. It was anointed and free and you could not help but dance either in the physical or in your spirit. One of the members of the worship team was Becky Thomas, a First Nations Christian artist. She was lovely. Many of the women there were First Nations and there were four women who played the ceremonial First Nations drum. So many ways to worship our God!

First Nations Sacred Drum

First Nations Sacred Drum

photo

The girls had some fun free time; they made jewellery, went to the park and even did some indoor rock climbing.

Indoor rock climbing

Indoor rock climbing

Free time

There were many little miracles happening all around us all weekend. Physical and emotional healing was amongst us everywhere. Here is an example of a miracle: two women, who were not registered, and did not know they were coming (until they were coming). They were mother to the same child and had not seen each other in 17 years! The one woman gave her son up for adoption at the age of 3 to this woman. The other woman who had adopted her son, has been praying for complete healing for her son but knew that could not happen until he was reunited with his birth mother (they had not been in touch over the years). The Lord had brought them together to begin that healing. That was just one of many stories!

A word to the youth

A word to the youth

My heart was so full that I could be there with my friends and with our daughters who are also friends. I was feeling grateful that our daughters WANTED to be there. I reconnected with many women from previous towns that I have lived in. The friend, Anne, that took me to my first retreat with Carlee was the speaker this weekend. I am going to share her message in a separate post but let me just say this….WOW…words I needed to hear! It was about the power of words.

Anne Klassen our speaker

Anne Klassen our speaker

IMG_2527Toni and Loretta

Not every year I get away on a retreat like this. However, God wants us to come away with Him every day. Today, grab a coffee, do whatever it is that makes you feel like you are taking time out…. and go spend a few moments with Him. Talk to Him. He loves you and is waiting for you to want to spend time with HIM. He wants to listen to the cry of your heart and to fill you up with His peace and love that can only come from Him.

 

10 thoughts on “Retreat With Our Girls

  1. Carol Anne Schmuck

    Hi Lorie,
    It sounds as if you really had a good time. How nice that you had the opportunity to go.
    Love…Carol Anne

    Like

    Reply
  2. Grace

    days, but I had such a great time. The cabin we shared was really, really nice. Cool bonus that we got a bathroom 😀
    But more importantly than the accommodations and food (which happened to be excellent as well), was the incredible worship that we got to join in. There were so many people doing different things: dancing, playing the First Nations drum, singing, dancing, crying, a couple of people ended up just lying on the floor and soaking it all in. I really appreciated the fact that no one was there for themselves, everyone was there to connect with God. There was nothing of self there, it was all focused on worshiping and loving God, which was completely amazing.
    There was also special prayer for the teens while I was there, we were all gathered in the front, anointed with oil and prayed over. I felt really blessed after that.
    There was so much good stuff that I could talk about, but Mrs. B said not to write an essay. So in short, everything was blessed and I left feeling encouraged and like I’d connected with the Holy Spirit and other Christians. I would 10/10 go again.

    Like

    Reply
    1. lorettabouillon Post author

      Grace, thanks for commenting because you added things that I did not touch on. You are so a part of our family and church family that it felt so right having you and your mom there! I hope you can come every year!

      Like

      Reply
  3. Grace

    This retreat was awesome possum, I was only there for one and a half days, but I had such a great time. The cabin we shared was really, really nice. Cool bonus that we got a bathroom 😀
    But more importantly than the accommodations and food (which happened to be excellent as well), was the incredible worship that we got to join in. There were so many people doing different things: dancing, playing the First Nations drum, singing, dancing, crying, a couple of people ended up just lying on the floor and soaking it all in. I really appreciated the fact that no one was there for themselves, everyone was there to connect with God. There was nothing of self there, it was all focused on worshiping and loving God, which was completely amazing.
    There was also special prayer for the teens while I was there, we were all gathered in the front, anointed with oil and prayed over. I felt really blessed after that.
    There was so much good stuff that I could talk about, but Mrs. B said not to write an essay. So in short, everything was blessed and I left feeling encouraged and like I’d connected with the Holy Spirit and other Christians. I would 10/10 go again.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Barbara Shenk

    Good job on this! It is sooo true that only God can meet all out needs and He WANTS to spend time with us!!!! and do just that:-) Blessing to you and yours!
    Love, Barbara

    Like

    Reply
  5. Kieran Sandford

    This was my fourth year coming to the Ness Lake Woman’s Retreat. Its so wonderful! I hope to keep going every year. It was so much fun. Meeting new people and making friends, making jewellery and crafts, rock wall climbing, eating the amazing food :P, and the worship was incredible! It was such a blessing to be in God’s presence over the weekend! I thought that Anne Klassen’s testimony was amazing. I really enjoyed listening to her. It was an amazing weekend. Loving your blog Loretta your doing great! God Bless! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. lorettabouillon Post author

      Thanks Kieran. I hope we keep going every year too! I just love all of us being together like that. I have to give Kieran credit for the photos! You did a great job and thanks for passing them on to me!

      Like

      Reply
  6. Carlee

    It was so good! The worship was fantastic, I always wished it wouldn’t stop. Anne’s testimony was pretty incredible and the rest of the sermon/speaking things were pretty mind blowing too (you know how people associate church with being boring? Well… this really really isn’t)! What I loved most is that every time I go there the people are never singing at you or preaching at you. They’re worshipping and we get to hear, and they’re sharing their stories with us and we get the privilege of pretty much sharing in their awe of God. Oh, and the food was superb… we had brownies and cookies at hand pretty much all the time and they fed us like four times a day plus chocolate. I wish it would go forever but then I’d be a fat sugar addict so I’ll settle for going every single year.

    Like

    Reply
  7. Lecia Goerke

    Loretta, what a joy to read this! I had so much fun this weekend, and I’m in awe at how many beautiful, annointed women came from all over “the North” — you and yours included. God’s beauty shines in you guys! His presence is so wonderful, and the increase when we’re all together is so tangible. Thanks for sharing this with me! God bless you richly!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

