Dating discussion thoughts by Loretta

I just want to say how amazing I think these kids are that are brave enough to write a post on their thoughts on dating! All the posts seem to have one thing in common…..they are all seeking God on the subject.

Yesterday, a friend of mine who knew me as a new believer, when Maxx was a baby, (18 years ago!) remembered that I was asking her about scriptures about moral purity back then. It must have been in my heart to raise my kids against the grain of the world. I mean we ALL want to raise are kids in the best way we know how, but to raise them with biblical standards is not seen so much. 18 years ago the bible truly became God’s Word for me. It became truth to me, my handbook for life. I tried to live my way, sought to find God in many different ways. Nothing worked or brought me peace. I gave pieces of my heart away that were meant for God and for my husband. I did not want that for my children.

The bible teaches us too that are bodies are the “temple of the Holy Spirit” (1 Cor 6:19) and not meant for sexual immorality (1 Corinthians 6:13)  Today, it is acceptable to “go out” with someone at a very young age. It is the norm actually. The world accepts it as a fact that kids will be sexually active so they teach safe sex (because they care.) But it is even more than the sexual immorality part. God wants our heart. He wants are hearts and minds to be pure because He longs to commune with us. “Whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is praiseworthy –think about such things. Whatever you have learned or received or heard from me, or seen in me–put into practice. And the God of peace will be with you.” (Philippians 4:8-9). I definitely want the peace of God for me and my family! Most of the world does not regard dating as an avenue to marriage. It is just something kids do lots, for a long time, before they get married.

I know I have asked my kids to walk a walk that I never did myself. My mother, tried to advise me to keep myself pure for my husband but I rebelled. It brought sadness into my life but God has redeemed me and blessed me and uses everything for good. I can raise my children in the Lord, teach them the Word of God, homeschool them, pray with them and for them and then release them to God to make their own choices. We fight the good fight on our knees and God will never leave us of forsake us of forsake our kids.

These kids writing in their thoughts on dating live in the world among those pressures. They are not all homeschooled and the ones that are homeschooled are still very active socially amongst peers their age in the community. They do not all live in this town. They have the pressures of the norms of the world all around them, every day. But they are taking a stand. They are seeking God’s plan for their, dating and ultimately their spouses. I applaud them and bless them and thank them for being so gracious to add to this blog.

I think there are a few more posts coming in on “My Thoughts on Dating”. Some need a bit more time to really look into their hearts and seek God about what they are going to write. I will keep posting as them come in. Some of you have commented on the posts and the kids have started commenting on each other’s posts. This encourages them so if you feel led to leave a comment or read the comments, just click on “reply” above the post.

One thought on “Dating discussion thoughts by Loretta

  1. Barbara Shenk

    I think that you are making the kids really think about what they do believe and this is so good! I remember before I had my 4th child that I was feeling afraid of what my neighbor was going to say as it was only acceptable then to have 2 and 1/2?? children. I had heard about a comment that she had made to someone who had more:-(  Then God led me to His word that said children were a BLESSING from God and happy is the man that has his quiver full of them. (Psalm 127:3-5) I realized that what the world was saying was not true! I started being proud (in the right way) of the blessings that God was giving me and even enjoying them more!!!! I was not fearful or ashamed of what people thought anymore as I knew what God said:-)  I believe that as Christian we need to find out what is from God and what the world is saying that we have bought into that is wrong and will only bring us harm!!!! What does God’s word really say and if He says to not do something, it is only to protect us FROM HURT AND BLESS US not keep us FROM something good!!! God does not do that!! Soooo, it is good to find out where our beliefs come from and what is God saying which is to bless and protect us.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

