My thoughts on Dating – by Danielle (age 18)

-Thoughts on dating-

My thoughts on dating have been shaped by my parents and other important people in my life. I grew up in a Christian home and the rules on dating were quite strict. From the beginning I knew that dating wasn’t meant to be a casual thing where you went from guy to guy. I knew that my heart was meant for one person and that I should guard it until that guy came along. I always believed that you shouldn’t date someone if you think that there is no way you would get married. Dating should be something that helps you get to know someone and prepare you for marriage. It shouldn’t something you do just because the world thinks you need a boyfriend.

I think that the first thing you have to do before you start dating is to make sure your relationship with God comes first. Having a relationship with God definitely made it easier on me. I spent many nights praying and asking Gods plan for me before I started dating. 🙂 I know God has a plan set out for you and he knows everything about your future including who you are going to spend the rest of your life with. He wants to be part of that relationship if you will let him.

Jeremiah 29:11
For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.

I think we all need help and advice from someone before we date or court. When I first thought I was ready to date I went to God and my parents for guidance. I remember when I developed a crush on my future boyfriend, I thought I was so ready to date and he was all I could talk about. I fell head over heels for him so my dad had to sit me down and tell me that I needed to slow down and pray about it because I was too young to date. I struggled with it for a while but it gave me a chance to really get to know the guy and become really good friends with him before we actually started dating. I think that definitely made our relationship stronger in the long run and I’m thankful that I can talk to my parents about dating and relationships.

Proverbs 15:22
Without counsel plans fail, but with many advisers they succeed.

It is very important to make sure you and the person you are interested in have the same values. If you are hanging around guys that are clearly a bad influence and don’t have the same values as you GET OUT! God tells us that we shouldn’t be unequally yoked with unbelievers so dating a guy that doesn’t have a personal relationship with God can take a great toll on your heart. I know Christian friends and family that have dated non Christians and almost every one of those relationships have ended badly. Your heart is far to precious to be broken 🙂

1 Corinthians 15:33 ESV
Do not be deceived: “Bad company ruins good morals.”

2 Corinthians 6:14
Do not be unequally yoked with unbelievers. For what partnership has righteousness with lawlessness? Or what fellowship has light with darkness?

A lot of the teenagers I know in this town jump from relationship to relationship, going “all the way” without even knowing much about the person they are giving themselves to. They talk about sex as a casual thing that you just do if you think you have been dating long enough, but it is meant to be something only shared between man and wife. Too many people think it’s ok to sleep with someone before they are married but it really does damage your heart and leaves baggage that will take a lot of time to heal and get rid of. So set boundaries and make sure the person you’re dating agrees to them ( no closed doors, only date in public or groups etc.)

1 Corinthians 6:18
Flee from sexual immorality. Every other sin a person commits is outside the body, but the sexually immoral person sins against his own body.

2 Timothy 2:22
So flee youthful passions and pursue righteousness, faith, love, and peace, along with those who call on the Lord from a pure heart.

All and all I don’t agree with the worldly way of dating. Dating whoever you want at that moment will break your heart. Although I do believe that if you do it the way God would want you to that dating can be a great thing 🙂

4 thoughts on “My thoughts on Dating – by Danielle (age 18)

  1. lorettabouillon Post author

    Danielle, thank you for your thoughts. I can tell you put a lot of prayer into this. I love the relationship you have with your parents and how you went to them for guidance. You are a wise young woman!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Barbara Shenk

    You did a very good job and gave lots of good advice! May God continue to keep you on the right path and bless you abundantly:-)

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

