The Power of our Words

A little while ago, I posted an update of the wonderful retreat my friends and I and our girls were privileged to attend. Anne Klassen, our speaker spoke ont he power of our words. If you ask someone else at this retreat what the message was, the message they heard might mean something different to them. This is what I took away….

What we say has power. The power to encourage, the power to uplift and build up, the power to tear down and the power to destroy. Anne began with the story of David and Goliath. We are all familiar with the story of how a small young man like David, slayed the giant, Goliath. God wants us to be strong (in the Lord). We are to let go of offenses as they make us weak. We are to take ground with our words. The message over and over was to get things right in our homes. How are we speaking to our children? Do our words encourage them? Are they kind and gentle? Or are they short and snappy because we are operating from a place of frustration and exhaustion. How are we speaking to our husbands? Are we speaking in a loving way or are the pressures of every day life tainting our speech.

I know, for me, I desire to greet my hubby with kind and loving words and I want to be someone he wants to come home and hang out with but after living a day of schooling, chaufeuring, scheduling, cooking, cleaning, dealing with animals and putting out several fires (so to speak 🙂 ) I don’t always come across like I would like to. Sometimes, I don’t even realize the busyness of my life has crowded out my regenerating time with God and the attitude of my heart changes. It becomes, tired, resentful…stressed.

Matthew 15:18 – “But the things that come out of the mouth come from the heart, and these make a man “unlcean”. What bitterness are we holding in our heart? Ask God to take it. It will effect the words that come out of our mouth.

Fight your battles with words of blessing at home. The more you die to self, the more you live. Love your family. Love Jesus be your actions. Everything is a heart issue. Start there first. Get your home in order before you can fight the Goliaths in your life and when are ready, fight the fight on your knees. Practice the presence of Jesus. Turn your eyes to Him first thing in the morning and last thing at night. Calling out to God is not enough if Jesus in not your God.

Ephesians 4:29 “Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building up others according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.”

Proverbs 20:19 -“A gossip betrays confidence; so avoid a man who talks too much.”

Proverbs 15:4 – “The tongue that brings healing is a tree of life, but a deceitful tongue crushes the spirit.”

Proverbs 15:1 “A gentle answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger.”

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “The Power of our Words

  1. Barbara Shenk

    Good word! I know that in the last while that God has been speaking to me about am I blessing or are my fears making me look at someone in a bad light??? I want to bless and be a blessing!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Anne Forster

    Very encouraging words , Loretta . A good check list to follow and see where we are standing in the light of the Word…It’s always my desire to be slow to speak and quick to listen and obey, but I do find myself falling short….but thank God for His mercy that fails not….
    God bless you and your family as you continue in this good work.
    With love and blessing to you all.
    Anne

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

