Where has the time gone?

How is it that it feel’s like yesterday that we were waking up this time of year, not wanting to do school because the weather is beautiful?  We would ditch the books and go for a nature walk to collect bugs! Early this morning I just saw my almost 15 (tomorrow), 16, and 18 year old off on a 10 hour road trip……alone! They are going to their friend Abbie’s grad. They loaded up in my oldest son’s, Maxx’s little Honda and off they went! We live in a town without a stop light and they will be driving through Edmonton to get to Lacombe! Letting go……breathe mom! It will be fine. God has it allllll under control. Good thing.

Maxx and Abbie were friends when they were a year old. My friend, Julie, then had 5 children and homeschooled. I never met anyone who homeschooled before. I was so drawn to this family and their lifestyle. The kids were happy. They made their own fun! The boys made swords and played David and Goliath type games out in the woods! The siblings enjoyed being together I wanted what they had. Our families moved apart but Julie and I stayed in touch over the years and our kids maintained contact.

Seventeen years later (and 9 children later for them…they have 16 now!), my kids are going to their home to celebrate Abbie’s graduation. There is lots on the agenda!   It will be a fun-filled packed weekend. A barbeque, line-dancing and just being with a whole bunch of kids that love God and love to have good, clean. fun. It will be Jonah’s birthday as well, and they will be going to the West Edmonton Mall for day so what a bonus for him!  Carlee and Maxx will pay Jonah’s admission to the mega water park as a birthday gift.

Even though our we have not spent much time together in the last 12 years, I am not sure this family even knows the impact they have had on our family. Even though I was a little bit nervous saying good bye to my kids as they pulled out of the driveway this morning, I know that it will be a sweet time of renewing friendships. Letting go is never easy, but know God is in control of this weekend and I don’t have to be 🙂 .

 

6 thoughts on “Where has the time gone?

  1. Wendy Cochrane

    They will have so much fun! I can’t believe Berger’s have 15 kids! ! Wow! That’s incredible! Nice to hear that they have been such a blessing in your life! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  2. Barbara Shenk

    It sounds like you are doing great Loretta!! I know you are going through some ups and downs but keep looking to Him and putting them in His hands!!!! I am working on that too and it has been going well!!! Bless you!!!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

