Modesty – A Guy’s Perspective – by Maxx (age 18)

Loretta, here…I actually was not expecting any more modesty posts. Originally I asked Maxx if he would be willing to write the male prospective on the modesty issue. He said yes right away, but was struggling with it for awhile, although he said he had words in his mind but just could not get the thoughts written down. I decided to let it go as I do not ever want to pressure anyone to write or comment for this blog. We left on vacation to cross Canada last week and we were on a 14 hour train ride from Saskatoon to Winnipeg. Eventually our family scattered throughout the train to have some time on their own. Maxx found a nice sunny spot up top in the observation deck. When I ran into Maxx, I saw him with journal and bible open. He was writing this post. I am grateful for his willingness to share his heart honestly. I hope it blesses someone like it did me. Maxx has asked for feedback on his thoughts so I encourage anyone who wants to comment to either use the reply option or if you would like to submit your thoughts in a separate post just email it to me and I will post it.

Modesty – by Maxx (age 18) 

Charm is deceptive and beauty is fleeting, but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised”. Proverbs 31:30

I’ve put off writing this for so long because I didn’t know what to write but I thought I should just start writing anyway. Modesty is a big issue these days and much more than people realize. The world’s morals are slowly diminishing; therefore modesty is more of a problem in this generation.

I can’t say there is a specific set of rules for being modest, just like there isn’t a specific set of rules for being a Christian. It is all about your relationship with Jesus and what He teaches you. A big lie that a lot of people believe, even some Christians, is that modesty is just for women. Modesty is for men and women alike. Even though this is true, in my opinion, an immodestly dressed woman has the potential to do more harm to a man’s eyes because of the male’s lustful nature. This does NOT mean men can get off easier with being immodest!

Modesty is not just the way we dress but it is also the way we act, our posture, our social attitude and our identities. Overall, it comes down to pride. A proud heart will only display a lack of humility and modesty. On the other hand, a humble heart will not only display modesty, but will produce a character in you that people respect.

To start, I would like to say a few things about women and address the topic of immodest dressing. Being a male I know the negative effects an immodesty dressed woman can have. The saddest part is that the world tells us that women have to dress this way to be accepted.  I work at a swimming pool, which has to be one of the worst places for a Christian guy trying to keep his eyes pure. At the end of a day I am usually drained from constantly trying to guard my eyes from immodestly dressed women.  I’m not sure why God has kept me working there. I’ve tried to get a job somewhere else…trust me. Whenever I see a modestly dressed woman at the pool I think to myself, “I respect her.” Not because she looks good or anything like that but because she obviously has respect for herself. Especially when it is a Christian woman who not only has respect for herself,f but for the Christian men around her who are trying so hard to keep pure.

Now for the guys’ side of modesty….I am definitely hoping to get some feedback from the female side on this as I am not 100% sure on everything I am writing. I do know that guys can dress immodestly. For example, wearing tight tank tops all of the time, or skinny jeans, and I don’t even need to say anything about speedos. They are just gross. But more than that, immodesty can be seen more in the way guys behave. The unnecessary removal of shirts or the “subtle” flexing of muscles when the opposite sex is present. Basically, if we expect women to dress modestly for us, then we need to dress and act modestly ourselves in order to set an example.

With the influences of today’s culture, including social media, entertainment and the internet, it’s hard for a guy to keep his eyes pure. We can either be men of God or men of the world. We can be women of God or women of the world. In the bible, it tells us to not be of this world but in it. So therefore, we are called to be men and women of God in the world and not of the world.

So please, I don’t want anyone taking this the wrong way in that I am trying to be a know- it-all. I really don’t know much. I only what I have come to understand while I have grown up and what God has shown me along the way. I hope this might help someone or give them a better understanding. Please comment if you have any thoughts as I would like to hear them.

 

6 thoughts on “Modesty – A Guy’s Perspective – by Maxx (age 18)

  1. Anne Forster

    I am so impressed and blessed by your words, Maxx….it’s good to hear the guys views on the issue of modesty…..I hope a lot of young men and women read this not only to know what God expects of us, but also how we should value one another especially as Christians who represent Christ to this needy world…..keep up the good work and may God bless you richly as you move forward in your life journey. thanks for writing !!!!!!!!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Toni Sandford

      Thanks for your honesty Maxx. I really appreciate your perspective and openness to share.
      Its always about the state of our heart isn’t it? Whether male or female we are responsible before God for why we do and think,. what we do and think. Your way of thinking is really cool. Thanks again

      Like

      Reply
  2. standinginthestorm

    Hey Maxx, Katie here… I really loved what you had to say. I felt like you really thought this out and worked with God closely for this post. One thing I would mention is girls can be as bad as guys when it comes to… Thinking of the right word… Respecting? Guys… we also tend to look at men in just as lustfully?? A way as guys do girls (working with mostly women I have really discovered this and have also indulged in innaproperate behavior as well, and well it seems fun I realize it’s not showing real respect to the persons we’re talking about, and not in a way God would, I think, approve) I kind of am starting to feel when I hear that guys have a harder time then girls remaining pure, that it’s becoming more of an excuse for guys to be innaproperate (not saying that your using it as an excuse because your definitly not, ok feeling a little awkward now… So to continue on)… because being a girl and having alot of girls as friends I can definetly confirm it just as much of a struggle for girls as it is for guys… Sorry that turned into a REALLY long comment I guess I had a kind of epheny. It was really cool to read your thoughts, and I totally agree with everything you had to say on modesty, especially it coming down to pride… Again an amazing read… 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  3. Pingback: The Extreme Makeover, Part Three | Proverbs 31 Wanna-be

Leave a Reply

