Fires

As I am separated from my family, I trust God’s plans are higher than my own. We have had a lovely family holiday in Ontario and my husband, daughter and mother-in-law flew back to British Columbia on Wednesday, only to arrive finding out that our home town, Hudson’s Hope had been evacuated due to the raging fires. My older son had set out that morning before the evacuation was known, to pick them up at the airport. Their flights were delayed 5 hours and by the time they got there, the town had been evacuated and they had to sign in a the Fort St. John arena emergency center with the rest of the town of Hudson’s Hope. A friend had picked up our dogs and brought them to Fort. St. John, however our horse, cat and bunny were left behind.

It was a tenuous time wondering what would happen as the fire got as close as a kilometer away from the town. Many prayers were going up for the people of Hudson’s Hope and the people of Fort St. John and surrounding area pulled together and opened up their homes and businesses to the temporary displaced people of Hudson’s Hope.

Last night the evacuation order was lifted and the residents were instructed to return home,  and get their things in order as Hudson’s Hope is still was under evacuation alert.

So, here I am, in Ontario with my youngest son, Jonah having a lovely extra week in Wasaga Beach, Ontario. I am feeling a bit helpless, a bit guilty, a lot worried and torn with being so happy and grateful for this bonus time with my parents and siblings, and feeling equally concerned about my family at home.

As the fires rage throughout B.C., I know that there are people around the world experiencing much harder things at this moment.  As Jonah is enjoying himself, very much here in Wasaga Beach (he got to go paint balling yesterday and a Bluejays game with his uncles in Toronto tomorrow!), he feels a bit sorry he is missing all the action and excitement back home. When talking and praying with him last night, I reminded him of how we prayed lots about the details of this trip and our summer plans in general. We agreed that God has us here for a reason to have this extra week with his grandparents and family.

As my goal is to read through the book of Psalms this summer, this one is for me today : “But I will trust in your unfailing love; my heart rejoices in your salvation. I will sing to the Lord, for he has been good to me.” Psalm 14:7. This one is for my family and friends back home: “Keep me safe, O God, for in you I take refuge. I said to the Lord, You are my Lord; apart from you I have no good thing.” Psalm 16: 1.

3 thoughts on “Fires

  1. Barbara Shenk

    May God surround you all with His love, wisdom and protection and turn even these fires into good for all of us! Not to worry or let our joy be taken away but to pray, do what He shows us and to leave the rest in His hands! Love and prayers Barbara

    Like

    Reply
  2. Anne Forster

    It’s so comforting to know that whatever we “leave in God’s hand”, is always well taken care off……………….praying for peace and safety for you and your family !!!!!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Carol Anne Schmuck

    Hi Lorie,
    I am praying for all of you during this very trying time. It is at times like this that our Faith in the Lord really counts.
    Love…Carol Anne

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

