Back to School Thoughts (by Kieran – age 14)

 Loretta here: Kieran is a very special young woman wise beyond her years! She is a good friend to Carlee and Jonah and Maxx and yes…like another daughter! I love how she ended her post with scripture. Here are her back to school thoughts …

Kieran photo

My sweet Kieran

 

Wow, school’s here already. And fall is in the air. I’m not used to waking up to frost on the ground and yellow leaves on the trees yet. It’s weird and I don’t like it.

I’m starting grade 10, and I’ll be doing a semester system this year for the first time. So I’m looking forward to doing that, not overly excited about the provincials though. 2014 is definitely a year full of changes; I’m a kind of person that doesn’t like change. Maxx, Joel, Katie, and Kersten have left for college (which is still very weird to me, and doesn’t seem real). I know they are going to be amazing and a light to everyone in school and It’s going to be an awesome experience for them but I am going to miss them all sooo  much!!!

My summer has flown by, it has been great, but I haven’t had a lot of down time. I’ve been super busy.  I got a job this summer so I was working lots, I have been horseback riding and training for Gymkhana, and I just finished a three-day Bronze Cross course (10 hours each day!) for swimming so I can be a junior lifeguard at our pool next summer. BTW I passed the course! Yay me!

There are many things to look forward to in this upcoming school year, but there are also things that are going to be hard and a struggle. In the midst of the good and the bad I tend to lean on the Lord for my strength and my joy. The following scriptures I will hold close to my heart and let the Almighty comfort and guide me.  Blessings to all, whatever this year holds for you, look to the Lord.

Proverbs 3:5-6 “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding; in all ways acknowledge him, and he will make your path straight.

Jeremiah 29:11 “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.”

Ecclesiastes 3:1-8 “There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under Heaven: a time to be born and a time to die,  a time to plant and a time to uproot, a time to kill and a time to heal, a time to tear down and a time to build, a time to weep and a time to laugh, a time to mourn and a time to dance, a time to scatter stones and a time to gather them, a time to embrace and a time to refrain, a time to search and a time to give up, a time to keep and a time to throw away, a time to tear and a time to mend, a time to be silent and a time to speak, a time to love and a time to hate, a time for war and a time for peace.”

 

2 thoughts on “Back to School Thoughts (by Kieran – age 14)

    1. Barbara Lee Shenk

      Hi! Kieran, I think that you are on the right track and will go far with this kind of thinking and trusting in the Lord for everything!
      Bless you and may you have many happy and wonderful surprises this coming year!!!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

