University Life – by Katie (age 19)

I have four classes left of this semester. It’s insane and has gone by so quickly. I keep saying that I can’t wait for Christmas break, but now I have to say I’m sad that it’s ending. University for me has been pretty good. I think taking a year off has prepared me well. I even seem to have some weird love for taking tests; I definitely did not have this in high school. My whole year off, all I wanted was to go back to high school. I really didn’t appreciate it when I was there, so if I could ever have a do over that would be it.

books-25154_1280

I’ve been put in a program that has three amazing professors, they’ve become like a form of family. They attend each other’s classes and really are there if you need to talk. Plus they’re all super funny and there is nothing better or scarier than a teacher with a sense of humor. A big thing with them is abolishing the belief that university professors don’t care. The truth is yes they do. I’ve applied this idea when talking to my other professors and you know what? They do want me to do well.

I’m living with two of my really close friends and I know a lot of times that doesn’t really work out but I think we have enough time on our own that we’re actually happy to see each other. I was also a little afraid about it because they had changed so much in the last year but so far so good. My other roommate keeps to herself, generally, but we still manage to sit down and have great conversations. I’m very lucky to have had some other close friends move to Prince George as well, who you guys know as Joel, Maxx, and Kersten. These guys are pretty awesome, and I’m not sure what I would have done if they weren’t here. God has really blessed me by surrounding me with amazing people new friends and old. My classes are incredible, even the one’s I struggle with. The only thing I really have to complain about is the food which is generally top of the line, except for leftover nights, crunchy burgers, gross.

Being a Christian at university has been hard. Sometimes you get the feeling every other belief is accepted except your own. As you can imagine a lot of classes are evolution based. Although I think it’s a good thing to learn in order to form opinions about it. It’s generally a good idea to know what you’re talking about if you disagree with it. The university does offer a non-denominational worship night the first Sunday of every month. The music is good, and the people are nice, it also didn’t make me feel so alone.

There were a couple of classes I had a tough time with whenever they talked about Christianity, so of course I went home and wrote a poem about it. I ended up handing this poem in with a project, and through the grace of God my prof and TA (teaching assistant) loved it, more it seemed then my written piece. Now I have to face the decision to preform it for my presentation, and I am really scared. This university could be more open to Christians for sure, and I see how many kids lose their faith when going to school, but I also am seeing how good it is to learn where other people are coming from.

Finals are coming up and I have a handful of projects to finish, but I don’t feel stressed yet. God has really kept me. There is a big part of me that wants to go home, I miss my family, blood and extended, so much. I miss my animals, and my room. I especially miss driving and yet there is a big part of me who is going to miss being here. Luckily with my program I’ll have the same classmates and most of the same profs next year, so it’s not really goodbye yet. There is something really exciting about starting completely new in January. I know there are a lot of other people who are really struggling and very stressed out this time of year. There has been a couple of times where I’ve pulled all-nighters in order to get what felt like 700 projects done that where all due the next day. There are midterms I felt completely unprepared for and many times I just wanted to run screaming from my room.

The people here though are very supportive. There is this awesome “pet-a-puppy” thing that happens during midterms and finals. So basically some dogs get brought around the school and you can go pet them in order to relieve stress. My psychology teacher doesn’t seem to believe it’s anything more than a placebo effect, but it seems to work and even he can’t argue with that. During finals there are many lunches, and study days offered. Also it’s good to never hesitate to go see a prof during their office hours, that’s what they’re there for. I guess what I’m saying is everybody freaks out at one point or another at university. School’s hard and you have to work for it. It’s just that I don’t let all of this stop me from having an amazing time, and for me, being stressed is a choice.

If anything, I’ve grown in my faith being here, and so many things I’ve wondered about make sense now. Like progress traps, worldviews, and paradigm shifts. Plato is also a pretty cool guy to learn about. School has been an experience for sure, a good one for me. It’s crazy too think that in two more weeks and I’ll be home! As a way of ending, here is a verse that’s been on my heart lately and has helped me out a lot.

“Trust God from the bottom of your heart; don’t try to figure out everything on your own. Listen for God’s voice in everything you do, everywhere you go; he’s the one who will keep you on track.” Proverbs 3:5-6 

1238850_10201278709022371_1105855745_n

Katie has written some other wonderful posts in this blog (check out her dating, modesty and back to school posts).  I am so happy she was willing to share with us her thoughts on university so far. Katie is in her first year at the University of Northern British Columbia  majoring in Anthropology. I can’t wait to see you at Christmas, Katie!

 

3 thoughts on “University Life – by Katie (age 19)

Leave a Reply

