Moving On

It is our last day here, in Wasaga Beach, Ontario. As I sit on a picnic table looking out at the expanse of Georgian Bay, the water is calm and glassy. It is the end of September, still sunny and warm and I reflect on my last three weeks here. Actually I reflect on the last 50 years of my annual summer visits to this lovely place.

When my children were younger, I had hoped and dreamed that we could move here and I could begin my day with a walk along the shore of the longest freshwater beach in the world. Due to my husband’s career and other decisions that we felt led to make as a family, our life has been established in Northern, BC. However, there is something about Wasaga Beach that will forever tug at my heart. Perhaps it is my childhood memories of the cottage, yearly summer beach visits with my own children or for the simple reason that my parents and sister still live here.

Who knows? Perhaps we will retire here. But for now, I am grateful I had the time to spend an extra three weeks here with my daughter, Carlee, and some quality time with my parents, sister and family.

Now it is time for Carlee and I to head out on our next adventure….our writing conference in Edmonton. Feeling blessed today for what feels like bonus stolen time with my lovely daughter who will before I know it, be flying off on her own adventures!

My sister Linda and I

My sister Linda and I

3 thoughts on “Moving On

Leave a Reply

